9/2/17 – Clarissa Attempts the Doctor, and Other Vaguely More Successful Ventures

Oh, what a knob I am.

I booked a doctor’s appointment first thing this morning. The good news: whilst I was waiting I came up with idea for this here blog. The bad news: I accidentally missed it because I am a numpty and breezed right in without checking in.

Why didn’t I check in at the desk? Because I left my brains at the door. And, to be fair, there’s no sign. (Nevermind the fact that I’ve been to this same doctor, successfully, at least twice before, folks.)

Ugh.

The upshot is that I had a meander nearby and got to take in some of the cheery wee snowdrops just getting into the thick of it. It may be cold as heck out, but snowdrops are tiny, unstoppable flower forces. Hot on their heels is many a daffodil and crocus that are just now thinking about making an appearance. Spring is happening–no matter how long winter in Scotland feels, it does actually get better!

dsc_1290

 

Despite my mid-morning goof-up, the rest of the day went off swimmingly. I took a chilly wander down to Lothian Road nearby to pop into one of the cinemas we hadn’t looked into before. As I walked I prepared in my head what I would say to the folks there, and in no time at all I had made it downstairs to where the theatre was located and was speaking to a very nice manager there about what we were attempting to do. He was totally on board and kindly explained what they already have on offer–their four main screens all have Audio Described available, wahoo! But they are limited by the number of headsets on hand. Unsurprising considering I doubt there’s been a huge demand before now. But that’s something they’re already looking to change for the future.

I left feeling quite chuffed. It’s a nice feeling, isn’t it? A heady combo of “wow, you did a Big Girl Thing, and you didn’t sound like a madwoman while doing so!”

odeon

(I totally didn’t take this photo, but whatever.)

Afterwards I made a honkin’ gigantic salad in me and Haitham’s brand-spanking-new 235L (okay, it’s only like, 10L) stainless steel kitchen bowl. And then played Bohnanza with the mates. Livin’ the dream, I tells ya.

Leave a Reply

