20-3-17 Days Gone By

Monday! It was my day off, which meant that I did a whole lot of nothing–again. I’ll happily blame still being caught in the throes of my video game for that one. What can I say? Those side quests ain’t gonna sort themselves!

I did notice that the weather looked beautiful out, sunny and bright all day, which prompted me to take to the bike when I finally did unchain myself from the couch. I headed off to collect some goodies for dinner, deciding I would make a special trip to Real Foods (organic hippie stuff) to pick up some Italian sausage tofurkey. I know, I know. It’s not quite as good as Dad’s own real-deal cooking, which I still think is one of my all-time favorite meals. But in a pinch, it’s as close to that as I can get, so hey-ho!

Naturally when I set out the clouds came whipping out of nowhere and it began to drizzle. (This is why you always carry a small hand towel with you in Scotland when biking, to wipe that ol’ seat right off. No soggy bottoms here!) When I came out of the shops the sky was beginning to clear a bit, so I thought I’d head along to one of the parks nearby called the Meadows to see if the daffodils were blooming.

Lo and behold what a treat awaited! The sky partially cleared and I was greeted with a big ol’ rainbow. Even better, at my end of the Meadows you can glimpse Arthur’s Seat off in the distance, making for An Excellent Photo Session.

IMG_5347

Check out those wicked clouds. What a contrast!

IMG_5355

How amazing. After gawking and taking a few too many photos, I headed home along the cycle path, which just so happens to pass a swathe of daffodils. I learned a trick from Haitham that if you set your camera f-stop to 11 or above, you can get an excellent star-dazzle effect of any bright light exposure.

IMG_5373

Michael Bay approved.

Leave a Reply

